Loading Events
Racing To Zero

April 21, 2016 @ 7:00 pm


Tidemark Theatre
1220 Shoppers Row
Campbell River, BC V9W 2C8 Canada
+ Google Map

Earth Week Film Festival 2016: Racing To Zero

Reducing our consumption and the amount of materials that end up in Campbell River’s landfill is becoming increasingly important. The average household in Campbell River discards 340 kg of garbage each year, but only 10% of this garbage belongs in the landfill, remaining items can be recycled or composted. The Earth Week Film Festival is a great opportunity to share knowledge with the community on how we can lower our impact on the environment. With this year’s focus being on waste reduction, we will be showing the film Racing to Zero: In Pursuit of Zero Waste, and a short clip promoting the Campbellton Neighborhood Association’s new community garden.

Racing to Zero is a quick-moving, upbeat documentary presenting new solutions to the global problem of waste. By simply substituting the word RESOURCE for GARBAGE, a culture can be transformed, and a new wealth of industries can emerge.

Three years ago the mayor of San Francisco pledged to achieve zero waste by 2020. Racing to Zero tracks San Francisco’s waste stream diversion tactics and presents innovative new solutions to waste. This film documents a surprising, engaging and inspiring race to zero.

Presented by the Youth Action Committee and the City of Campbell River

Admission by donation for youth environmental bursary

Bursary info:

  • This is the fourth year that the Youth Action Committee has offered the bursary using the funds raised at the Earth Week Film Festival (all donations at the door go toward the bursary)
  • YAC set up the bursary to support a graduating SD72 student going on to post-secondary studies who has a focus on the environment (in their studies and/or their community involvement; the students must not only be doing well academically, but also be involved in the community as a volunteer)
  • Each year the bursary has been $500
  • The recipient is selected by School District 72 during the scholarship and bursary awards toward the end of the school year